What you’ll learn in this article…
- Kellogg-HKUST EMBA ranks first in the Financial Times 2026 Executive MBA ranking.
- Alumni outcomes carry 52 percent of the Financial Times ranking methodology.
- In 2026, Kellogg-HKUST's class averages age 42 with 18-19 years experience.
Executive MBA rankings now emphasize cross-border alumni networks and salary trajectories over domestic prestige. Kellogg-HKUST EMBA now sits at No. 1 in the Financial Times Executive MBA Ranking 2026, up from fourth last year. A top rank is one input, not a verdict on fit or whether an MBA is worth it, especially for a joint degree that requires time in both Evanston and Hong Kong.nnApplicants weighing the program should separate the ranking mechanics from cost, admissions selectivity, and the operational reality of a dual-campus schedule. US-based alternatives remain viable for executives who need a domestic network.
FT Executive MBA Ranking 2027: Kellogg-HKUST Climbs From Fourth to First
Kellogg-HKUST rose from fourth in 2025 to first in the 2026 Financial Times Executive MBA ranking, reflecting the joint program's international reach and alumni career outcomes. For US-based applicants weighing the cross-border option, these Executive MBA programs offer a domestic comparison across schedule, cost, and career support.
How we ranked these
- Pell Grant enrollment share
- Tuition adjusted for regional cost
- Post-completion earnings strength
- Program structure and flexibility
- BEA Regional Price Parities (state cost of living) — bea.gov
- College Scorecard post-completion earnings data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
- In-house program catalog data
- Independent program research
- National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) covering graduation rates, retention rates and student-faculty ratios — nces.ed.gov
University of Florida
The University of Florida's Warrington College of Business delivers an Executive MBA designed for experienced professionals, with an AI and analytics focus and a required global immersion trip. The 21-month hybrid format meets every three weekends and does not require a GMAT or GRE. Graduates often target C-suite roles with support from personalized career services.
- 21-month, 48-credit hybrid format
- Weekend classes every three weeks
- No GMAT or GRE required
- Required global immersion trip
- AI and analytics integrated curriculum
- Optional Scrum and Lean Six Sigma certifications
- $62,807 total program tuition
- Ranked No. 14 among public EMBA programs
Executive MBA — Hybrid
University of California-Berkeley
UC Berkeley Haas offers a cohort-based MBA for Executives that brings together about 70 students monthly for on-campus blocks in Berkeley. The program emphasizes advanced strategic thinking, innovation, and global business acumen, with field immersions in Silicon Valley, Washington D.C., and international hubs. It is designed for senior professionals and features a notably international cohort.
- 22-month cohort-based format
- Monthly on-campus blocks Thursday through Saturday
- Field immersions in Silicon Valley and Washington D.C.
- Global field immersion opportunities
- Executive career support
- About 70 students per cohort
- 53% international students
- Taught by Berkeley Haas faculty
MBA for Executives — Hybrid
University of Michigan
Michigan Ross structures its Executive MBA around 12 core courses and 14 electives, blending strategic, financial, and leadership training. A signature ExecMAP project gives students hands-on experience in a new industry or function, while the Leadership Development Program supports personal growth. The 21-month format is built for working leaders aiming at senior roles.
- 21-month program with 12 core courses
- 14 elective options across disciplines
- ExecMAP hands-on project
- Leadership Development Program
- Online micro electives available
- Financial performance and strategic thinking core
- Designed for experienced leaders
- Cohort-based collaborative learning
Executive MBA — Hybrid
University of California-Irvine
UC Irvine Merage's Executive MBA integrates AI and machine learning throughout the curriculum, with weekend classes that allow working professionals to continue their careers. Recent fee reductions and a test-optional policy make the program more accessible, and tech-focused field visits are built into the experience. It is open to international executives and emphasizes executive coaching and a global alumni network.
- 21-month weekend format
- No entrance exam required
- Test-optional admissions
- AI and machine learning integrated
- Tech firm visits in Orange County and Silicon Beach
- Executive coaching and global alumni network
- Fees reduced by $48,000
- Open to international executives
Executive MBA — Hybrid
University of California-Los Angeles
UCLA Anderson offers both a Los Angeles-based Executive MBA and a joint UCLA-NUS Executive MBA. The Anderson EMBA is a 22-month cohort program with extensive leadership coaching, 30+ electives, and a week-long global residential. The UCLA-NUS option is shorter and dual-degree, blending in-country segments with online delivery for a global cohort.
- 22-month cohort-based program
- Monthly hybrid weekend schedule
- Over 40 hours leadership curriculum
- 20+ hours one-on-one executive coaching
- 30+ elective course options
- Week-long global business residential
- 20+ international study options
- Capstone project required
- 15-month dual-degree program
- Earn two MBA degrees from UCLA and NUS
- Six in-country segments spanning one to two weeks
- 75% in-country and 25% online delivery
- Ten hours of one-on-one executive career coaching
- Application fee waived for early round
- Global executive network from two schools
- Leadership development program included
UCLA Anderson Executive MBA — Hybrid
UCLA-NUS Executive MBA — Hybrid
Georgia Institute of Technology
Georgia Tech Scheller's Executive MBA is a 17-month weekend program with two concentrations: Global Business and Management of Technology. The curriculum is oriented toward technology and sustainability, and the school reports strong salary progression. It draws working professionals from employers such as Accenture, Delta, and Coca-Cola.
- 17-month cohort-based weekend schedule
- Global Business concentration
- International markets and cross-cultural leadership focus
- Global strategy curriculum
- Ranked No. 1 in Georgia by QS
- 20% average salary increase at graduation
- Cohort-driven classes on Fridays and Saturdays
- Specialized career services
- 17-month program with weekend classes
- Management of Technology concentration
- Innovation and tech-driven leadership focus
- Technology and sustainability orientation
- 63% salary increase three years after graduation
- Leadership development program
- Designed for experienced professionals
- Employer connections with Accenture, Delta and Coca-Cola
Executive MBA in Global Business — Hybrid
Executive MBA in Management of Technology — Hybrid
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
UNC Kenan-Flagler offers three Executive MBA formats: a Weekend EMBA, an Evening EMBA, and a Charlotte EMBA. The formats vary from monthly hybrid residencies to weekly in-person evening classes, with multiple concentration options and strong career outcomes. The program emphasizes leadership development and flexible scheduling for working professionals.
- Classes held once a month
- Blend of in-person and virtual classes
- Impact Weekends with other EMBA cohorts
- Accommodations included for in-person weekends
- Second-year elective options
- Orientation weekend in early January
- 12-20 hours weekly study outside class
- Starts winter
- Once-a-week evening in-person classes
- STEM-designated MBA program
- 18% average salary increase during program
- 32% salary increase for job changers
- Average 12 years work experience in cohort
- Students from Deloitte and Google
- New Bell Hall learning facility in 2026
- Access to electives in other MBA formats
- In-person Monday evenings in Charlotte
- 20-24 months program
- Six concentration options
- Average salary increase of $31,644 after graduation
- Two required Impact Weekends
- Leading with Impact leadership series
- Executive career coach support
- $150 application fee
Weekend Executive MBA — Hybrid
Evening Executive MBA — On-Campus
Charlotte Executive MBA — On-Campus
Brigham Young University
BYU Marriott's Executive MBA is a values-based, in-person program with classes every other weekend at the BYU Salt Lake Center. It includes a five-day residency, a required foreign business excursion, and the Razor's Edge leadership course. The program is designed for experienced professionals seeking senior leadership roles with an ethical foundation.
- 54 total credit hours
- Cohort-based in-person instruction
- Classes every other weekend at BYU Salt Lake Center
- Five-day residency week
- Required foreign business excursion
- Razor's Edge leadership course
- Values-based leadership education
- Designed for working professionals
Executive MBA — Hybrid
University of Virginia
Darden's Executive MBA and Global Executive MBA use the case method, taught entirely by Darden faculty. The hybrid formats combine leadership, weekend, and global residencies with distance learning, and second-year students choose from 12 electives. Darden is known for general management and developing an enterprise perspective.
- Case method teaching approach
- 12 elective courses in second year
- Leadership, weekend and global residencies
- Taught entirely by Darden faculty
- Develops CEO-level enterprise perspective
- Ranked #1 in general management by FT
- Hybrid distance learning component
- Core courses in accounting, finance, marketing and strategy
- Global Executive MBA format
- Leadership residencies included
- Global residencies included
- Distance learning combined with residencies
- Darden faculty throughout
- Enterprise perspective focus
- Case-based curriculum
- Second-year electives available
Executive MBA — Hybrid
Global Executive MBA — Hybrid
University of Washington-Seattle Campus
Foster's Executive MBA is a two-year, cohort-based program with full-day Friday or Saturday classes. It includes a 10-day international immersion and culminates in a business plan competition capstone. The program reports strong earnings outcomes for graduates and attracts experienced professionals averaging 15 years of work experience.
- Two-year cohort-based program
- Full-day classes on Fridays or Saturdays
- 10-day International Immersion
- EMBA Business Plan Competition capstone
- Class of 2023 average salary of $190k+
- 15 years average work experience
- 48% women in 2023 cohort
- Team-based learning with diverse leaders
Executive MBA — On-Campus
How the FT Ranks Executive MBAs: What the Methodology Measures
Some applicants read a ranking as a school scorecard; the FT builds it as a weighted model that leans heavily on alumni outcomes. Alumni surveys carry 52% of the total, school-provided data 38%, and faculty research 10%.1
Alumni outcomes drive the ranking
- Salary today: 15%
- Salary increase: 16%
- Career progress: 6%
- Aims achieved: 6%
- Work experience: 5%
- Alumni network rank: 4%
Together, salary today and salary increase account for 31% of the total, making earnings the single largest component. The FT surveys alumni three years after completion, converts salaries to US dollars using purchasing-power parity, and removes the highest and lowest values before averaging each school. In 2026, 4,466 alumni responded, a 39% response rate.1
School data and eligibility
Schools must have AACSB or EQUIS accreditation, a cohort-based EMBA, at least 30 annual graduates, three years of operation, and a 20% alumni response rate. School inputs cover gender and international balance, faculty qualifications, international course experience, carbon footprint, ESG teaching, and board diversity. Faculty research rank contributes the remaining 10%.
Where to stay skeptical
The ranking is relative, using z-scores across the 100 ranked programs2, a reason applicants should keep asking whether do MBA rankings matter. Salary indicators can reflect regional pay and pre-program earnings, not just the program's added value, so MBA salary vs cost comparisons can mislead. A school with many alumni in high-salary markets can rank higher even when classroom value is similar. The FT does not publicly break out exactly which indicator moved Kellogg-HKUST from fourth to first.
The Salary Figure Behind the Ranking
Why Kellogg-HKUST Stands Out: Joint Degree, Asia Footprint and Format
For many executives, the choice is between a conventional US-based cohort and a cross-border experience that mirrors where their business actually operates. Kellogg-HKUST resolves that tension with a joint degree issued by Northwestern University and HKUST; graduates receive one MBA and hold alumni status at both schools. That dual affiliation is central to the program's appeal: you are not choosing between a US MBA and an Asian MBA, but receiving both within one structure.
A Two-School Credential
Designed for experienced managers and senior executives, the program is part-time and general-management in focus. It runs 18 months across 11 short intensive modules, with two courses each month. The curriculum crosses subject boundaries and emphasizes tools for complex managerial problems.
Hong Kong Plus Evanston
Two residential sessions anchor the cohort. The first takes place at HKUST in Hong Kong in January; the second at the Kellogg MBA Profile's James L. Allen Center in Evanston, Illinois, in August. Teaching is shared between Kellogg and HKUST faculty.
An Asia-Based, International Network
Beyond Hong Kong, the program draws participants from Beijing, Shanghai, Taipei, Manila, Singapore, and Tokyo. In the 2026 Financial Times ranking coverage, 93 percent of participants came from outside the program's home market. The curriculum is globally focused, with interaction among participants from different industries, professional backgrounds, and nationalities. The school also reports more than 50 elective options taught by Kellogg and HKUST professors for future cohorts.
Admissions Reality Check: Selectivity, Requirements and Deadlines
The current class averages age 42, with 18–19 years of work experience depending on the reporting cohort. The program does not publish an acceptance rate.
- Acceptance rateNot publicly disclosed. Admission is limited and first-come, first-served; meeting minimum requirements does not guarantee a seat.
- Work experienceThe FAQ requires at least 10 years of significant full-time work experience; some catalog pages state 8 years. Admitted students typically average 18–19 years.
- GMAT/GREGMAT is not normally required. Applicants without a bachelor's degree may need to take the GMAT after a preliminary CV review if accepted. GRE is not mentioned in official sources.
- Application materialsOnline form, CV, company sponsorship letter detailing financial and time commitment, two online recommendations, official transcripts, business card and ID copy, plus English test results if applicable.
- InterviewRequired. Face-to-face with the Program Director and Academic Director, usually on campus in Hong Kong. Lasts about 45 minutes; focuses on background, work experience, and motivation.
- Deadlines and intakeRolling admissions with no fixed calendar deadline disclosed. The next intake is January 2027 (Winter Term 2026-27). Apply early because seats are limited.
Related Articles
US-Based Executive MBA Alternatives Compared
The joint Kellogg-HKUST EMBA holds the top spot in the Financial Times 2026 Executive MBA ranking, but that program is structured for cross-border study. For professionals seeking a US-based EMBA, the table below compares several established programs on format, location, duration and published tuition.
| Program | Location | Format | Duration | Approx. Tuition | FT 2026 Rank |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Northwestern Kellogg Executive MBA | Evanston, Illinois | Alternating weekends; six quarters over two years | Two years | $205,486 USD | 1 (joint Kellogg-HKUST EMBA; ranking is for joint degree, not Evanston EMBA alone) |
| Chicago Booth Sokolov Executive MBA | Chicago, Illinois | Cohort-based, lockstep fixed curriculum; daytime classes Monday through Saturday with evening coursework | 22 months | $223,500 USD | Not reported in available FT 2026 result |
| Columbia Business School Executive MBA | New York, New York | Not specified in available source | 20 or 24 months | ~$240,000 USD | Not reported in available FT 2026 result |
| Wharton MBA Program for Executives | Philadelphia, Pennsylvania and San Francisco, California | Alternating weekends; six terms | Two years | $243,000 USD, including weekend housing and dining | Not reported in available FT 2026 result |










