MBA Schools in Baltimore, MD | Compare Top Programs
Updated September 5, 202620 min read

MBA Schools in Baltimore, MD: Your Complete Guide

Compare tuition, formats, career outcomes, and admissions across Baltimore's accredited MBA programs to find the right fit for your career goals.

What you’ll learn in this article…

  • Johns Hopkins Carey and UB lead Baltimore MBA rankings for working professionals.
  • Part-time and online formats far outnumber traditional full-time MBA options.
  • Total tuition ranges from roughly $35,000 at public schools to over $120,000 at private.

Baltimore sits forty minutes from D.C. by train, and that proximity now shapes MBA decisions more than local rankings do. Johns Hopkins anchors the region's health care and biotech employers, defense and federal contracting firms lean on the D.C. corridor, and a smaller but expanding tech sector in Fells Point and Canton is adding hiring pressure of its own.

The program mix here is compact but genuinely varied: an elite private research university, public options through the University System of Maryland, and Morgan State's HBCU MBA, each pulling from a different applicant pool and salary band.

The practical tension is fit, not prestige: choosing between full-time immersion, part-time flexibility, and online formats while employers weigh tuition against real wage lift.

Jump straight to the program list →

Baltimore's MBA Job Market: Key Employers and Industries

Baltimore rewards MBAs who treat the city as the center of a larger Mid-Atlantic employment corridor, not as a closed local market. The region's mix of healthcare systems, federal contractors, and D.C.-linked professional services creates more mobility than a single-city search suggests.

Where hiring is concentrated

Baltimore's most consistent MBA demand sits in healthcare, financial services, and technology. Johns Hopkins Carey's 2024 full-time MBA employment report names employers across healthcare, consulting, finance, and technology. Representative hiring organizations include:

  • Healthcare and life sciences: AstraZeneca, Vertex Pharmaceuticals, and Johns Hopkins Health System, plus MedStar and the University of Maryland Medical System as regional anchors.
  • Consulting and professional services: McKinsey & Company, Cognizant, and Infosys.
  • Finance: JPMorgan Chase and T. Rowe Price, a large Baltimore-based employer.
  • Technology and corporate: Amazon, Microsoft, and Qualcomm.

Carey also maintains a dedicated employer relations focus on the commercial healthcare sector, which signals how central medical and life sciences employers are to the local MBA market. Legacy employers such as Greater Baltimore Medical Center and McCormick add to the base, but available hiring data does not confirm current MBA recruiting pipelines at each, so candidates should verify relationships directly.

The D.C.-Baltimore corridor advantage

The strongest play for many Baltimore MBA candidates is to widen the search to Washington D.C., Columbia, Annapolis, Towson, and Bethesda. Federal agencies, consulting firms, and policy organizations hire heavily across this corridor. Defense and government contracting firms such as Northrop Grumman, Booz Allen Hamilton, and Leidos are prominent regional employers, but they were not listed in the available 2024 program-level employment report. Treat those names as corridor-based opportunities rather than documented recruiting pipelines.

Many Baltimore MBA candidates use a hybrid schedule: live in Baltimore for lower housing and service costs, commute or work remotely into Washington or Bethesda, and then return to the Baltimore market for roles in healthcare, finance, or technology. The Port Covington tech hub and the Fort Meade/NSA corridor add a technology and cybersecurity dimension, though specific cyber firms were not named in the available program-level hiring data.

How cost of living changes the ROI

Baltimore's cost of living remains meaningfully lower than Washington D.C.'s. That gap improves real salary returns for professionals who live in Baltimore while commuting or working remotely into the broader regional market. A Baltimore-based MBA can therefore offer a practical path to D.C.-level compensation without absorbing D.C.-level housing, transportation, and service costs.

Full-Time Vs. Part-Time Vs. Online: MBA Formats Available in Baltimore

Most MBA students in the Baltimore area are working professionals, and the program formats reflect that reality. Evening, hybrid, and online options far outnumber traditional full-time tracks. The comparison below maps each Baltimore-area school's available formats, schedules, and typical timelines so you can find the structure that fits your career stage.

SchoolFull-TimePart-Time / EveningOnlineHybridTypical DurationBest Fit
Johns Hopkins Carey Business SchoolFull-time MBA relocates to Washington, D.C. for 2026; not offered in BaltimoreFlexible MBA available (schedule details not published)Not specified for standalone MBANew Executive MBA (fall 2026): 19-month cohort-based hybrid with in-person residencies in D.C. and London19 months (EMBA); varies for Flexible MBAExperienced leaders seeking an executive cohort; career-switchers should note the D.C. relocation
Loyola University Maryland (Sellinger)One-year, mostly in-person MBA on Baltimore's Evergreen CampusProfessional's MBA: self-paced, 39 credits, 8-week sessions with one evening class per week in BaltimoreProfessional's MBA available fully online with asynchronous coursework and some synchronous evening sessionsProfessional's MBA blended option combines weekly evening meetings with asynchronous online work12 months (full-time); self-paced (part-time)Full-time track suits career-switchers; Professional's MBA is built for working professionals who need flexibility
University of Baltimore (Merrick)Not offered as a distinct full-time trackFlex MBA with on-campus classes beginning at 6 p.m.Fully online asynchronous option availableHybrid option blending on-campus evening sessions with online courseworkCompletion timeline varies by course loadBudget-conscious professionals looking for evening or online flexibility
Morgan State University (Graves)Not offeredNot offered in an evening classroom formatFully online MBA, 36 credits (27 core plus 9 elective)Not specifiedNot publishedStudents who need a completely online path and value an HBCU experience
University of Maryland, Smith (Baltimore campus)Not offered at the Baltimore locationEvening MBA: two weeknight meetings per week (6:25 to 10:00 p.m.) at the Baltimore campusNot a distinct online MBA at this locationEvening format blends in-person Baltimore sessions with elective flexibility across UMD campuses30 to 36 monthsMid-career professionals committed to a two-evening-per-week schedule in Baltimore

What You'll Actually Pay: MBA Tuition and Cost Comparison

Sticker price is rarely what MBA students actually pay, yet it remains the best starting point for comparing programs side by side. The table below lists published per-credit rates and estimated total tuition for the five major MBA programs serving Baltimore professionals, along with average net price figures drawn from federal data where available. Keep in mind that net price varies significantly based on your financial aid package, employer sponsorship, scholarships, and residency status.

SchoolFormatPer-Credit Rate (In-State)Per-Credit Rate (Out-of-State)Total CreditsEstimated Total TuitionAvg. Net Price (Federal Data)
University of Baltimore Merrick SchoolFlex MBA (Hybrid)$955$1,33439$37,245 (in-state) / $52,026 (out-of-state)$13,868
University of Baltimore Merrick SchoolOnline MBA$955 (all students)$955 (all students)39$37,245$13,868
Morgan State University Graves SchoolOnline MBA$30,000 flat rate$30,000 flat rateN/A$30,000N/A
Loyola University Maryland Sellinger SchoolProfessional's MBA (Part-Time)$1,195 (no residency distinction)$1,19539 (estimated)~$46,605$30,574
Loyola University Maryland Sellinger SchoolEmerging Leaders MBAFlat program priceFlat program priceN/A$61,810$30,574
Johns Hopkins Carey Business SchoolFlexible MBA$2,060 (no residency distinction)$2,06054~$111,240$18,809
UMD Robert H. Smith SchoolFull-Time MBA (College Park)$1,760$2,15754 (estimated)~$95,040 (in-state) / ~$116,478 (out-of-state)$15,678
UMD Robert H. Smith SchoolFlex MBA$1,733 (no residency distinction)$1,73348~$83,184$15,678
UMD Robert H. Smith SchoolExecutive MBAProgram-based pricingProgram-based pricingN/A$136,806$15,678

The Real Cost of a Baltimore MBA

Before exploring financial aid options, take a quick look at what Baltimore-area MBA programs actually cost. These figures reflect net prices and debt levels across public and private institutions, giving you a realistic budget baseline.

Baltimore MBA cost snapshot: net prices from $13,868 to $30,574, median debt of $23,250, based on 2024 federal data

Financial Aid and Scholarships for Baltimore MBA Students

Financial aid for an MBA covers everything beyond your own savings: federal loans, need-based grants, merit scholarships tied to your application profile, graduate assistantships that trade work hours for tuition credit, and money your employer contributes toward your degree. Most Baltimore students layer several of these together rather than relying on one source.

Start With the Federal Baseline

Filing the FAFSA opens access to Grad PLUS loans, which cover the full cost of attendance for most programs and don't require a credit-based cosigner the way private loans do. Treat this as your floor, not your plan. Every dollar of school-based aid you secure afterward reduces what you'll eventually repay.

Merit Aid Varies Widely by School

Johns Hopkins Carey auto-considers applicants for merit awards, including the Carey Business Fellowship (full tuition plus a $19,800 annual stipend for candidates with roughly three years of experience, a GPA near 3.3, and a strong standardized test score) and smaller named awards like the Double Jay Scholarship (50% tuition for Hopkins alumni) and limited slots through Reaching Out MBA. University of Baltimore's Dean's MBA Scholarship and Entrepreneurship Opportunity Scholars award (around $9,354 plus a $1,000 stipend, capped at five recipients) require a 3.5 GPA and FAFSA on file, blending merit with need documentation. Public and part-time-heavy programs, including Morgan State and Maryland Smith's Flex MBA, tend to lean harder on graduate assistantships, which pair roughly 20 hours of weekly work with tuition credit toward a set number of credits per semester.

Check Your Employer First

Before borrowing, ask your employer about tuition reimbursement. Major Baltimore-area employers, including Johns Hopkins, Under Armour, and T. Rowe Price, have historically offered tuition assistance for employees pursuing part-time or online MBAs. Combined with a school's alumni or corporate-partner discount, employer benefits can meaningfully shrink or eliminate the loans you'd otherwise need.

Questions to Ask Yourself

  1. Am I planning to build my career in the Baltimore–D.C. corridor, or do I need national brand recognition?

    Regional programs like Loyola or UB carry strong local networks with Maryland employers, while Johns Hopkins Carey offers broader national reach. Your target job market should drive the tradeoff between local alumni depth and nationwide visibility.

  2. Do I need evening or weekend classes, or can I commit to a full-time cohort?

    Full-time formats accelerate career pivots but require pausing income for 18 to 24 months. Part-time and online paths preserve your salary and benefits but stretch the degree across three or more years, delaying your promotion timeline.

  3. Is my target specialization a genuine strength at one specific Baltimore school?

    Healthcare management aligns naturally with Johns Hopkins, cybersecurity is a UMBC and UB strength, and finance runs deep at Loyola. Matching your concentration to a school's faculty and employer pipeline matters more than overall ranking.

Top-Ranked MBA Programs Serving Baltimore Students

Below are the top MBA programs serving Baltimore students, ranked by completion data, accreditation, and overall fit. The list spans Baltimore city campuses, hybrid executive options, and online formats so working professionals can compare the programs that match their career stage.

How we ranked these
Factors considered
  • Graduation and retention rates
  • Post-graduation earnings outcomes
  • Accreditation and program breadth
  • Format flexibility for working professionals
Data sources
  • National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) covering graduation rates, retention rates and student-faculty ratios — nces.ed.gov
  • College Scorecard post-completion earnings data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
  • In-house program catalog data
  • Independent program research
  • Council on Social Work Education (CSWE) — cswe.org
UN

University of Maryland-College Park

College Park, MD · $18,000/yr

Best for: Senior managers seeking hybrid executive MBA

The University of Maryland's Robert H. Smith School of Business anchors this list with an executive pathway that reaches Baltimore directly through its Baltimore Peninsula campus in South Baltimore, while dual-degree options operate from College Park, less than an hour away. The hybrid Executive MBA is built around about 26 days on campus, and joint MBA programs in law, medicine, social work, and information systems extend the school's reach. College Scorecard data from 2024 shows a graduation rate near 89%, median graduate debt around $19,000, and median earnings of roughly $83,000 a decade after students first enroll.

  • Executive MBA — Hybrid
    University of Maryland-College Park
    No entrance examMilitary benefits
    • Hybrid 15-month program for experienced professionals
    • Requires only about 26 days on campus
    • No GMAT or other entrance exam required
    • Total program tuition of $136,806
    • Executive coaching and personalized development plan included
    • Optional global immersion course
    • Capstone consulting project with real-world impact
    • 44% average salary increase three years after graduation
    Visit Website
  • JD/MBA (dual degree)
    University of Maryland-College Park
    • Joint MBA and JD completed in four academic years
    • Separate applications to both schools required
    • Located along the Washington-Baltimore corridor
    • Participation in national MBA conferences and recruiting events
  • MBA/MD (dual degree)
    University of Maryland-College Park
    • Five-year joint program with the School of Medicine
    • Admission to both programs required
    • Fall start; GMAT or GRE test optional
    • Minimum of one letter of recommendation
  • MBA/MSW (dual degree)
    University of Maryland-College Park
    • Combines business and social work coursework
    • Separate application to each program required
    • GMAT or GRE test optional; no entrance exam required
    • Career services include on- and off-campus recruiting
  • MBA/MS in Information Systems (dual degree)
    University of Maryland-College Park
    • 66 total credit hours; full-time or part-time options
    • Apply at start or after your first MBA year
    • Non-thesis pathway with research and technology skills
    • Study finance, accounting, information systems, or supply chain
    • Courses in digital transformation and data-driven decision making
UN

University of Baltimore

Baltimore, MD · $17,000 – $23,000/yr

Best for: Working professionals needing evening flexibility

University of Baltimore's AACSB-accredited Merrick School of Business is the most city-centric option in this ranking, with a downtown campus, evening classes starting at 6 p.m., and hybrid or fully online coursework. The 39-credit Flex MBA offers 12 specializations, including data analytics, entrepreneurship, and health care management, and Maryland residents pay $955 per credit in the 2026-27 academic year. Federal data shows median annual earnings of about $61,000 roughly ten years after students first enroll and median graduate debt near $23,300.

  • MBA with Data Analytics Specialization — Hybrid
    University of Baltimore
    No entrance examRolling admissionsTest optional
    • 39-credit MBA built around data analytics coursework
    • Finish in as few as 18 months, full or part time
    • Evening classes starting at 6 p.m.; hybrid options
    • Rolling admissions with fall, spring, or summer starts
    • No GMAT or GRE required
    • Prepares for data analyst, business intelligence, or data scientist roles
    Visit Website
  • MBA with Entrepreneurship Specialization — On-Campus
    University of Baltimore
    • Entrepreneurship and innovation track within Merrick MBA
    • AACSB-accredited school; top 6% of business schools
    • More than 26,000 alumni in the Merrick network
    Visit Website
  • MBA with Health Care Management Specialization — On-Campus
    University of Baltimore
    • Health care management track within Flex MBA
    • Flex MBA with 12 total specializations
    • Scholarships and financial aid available
    Visit Website
  • JD/MBA (dual degree) — On-Campus
    University of Baltimore
    • Complete both degrees in three to four years
    • Credits shared between the two programs
    • Online MBA courses available; integrated course sequence
    • AACSB-accredited business school component
    Visit Website
FR

Frostburg State University

Frostburg, MD · $11,000 – $14,000/yr

Best for: Frostburg accounting grads completing accounting MBA

Frostburg State's contribution is an online MBA/Accounting designed for graduates of its own accounting bachelor's program, which means it serves Baltimore-area professionals only if they completed that undergraduate degree. Its 33-credit structure exists largely to satisfy CPA education requirements in Maryland, with concentrations in business analytics, management, and health care management. Admission requires the GMAT or GRE unless a GPA or experience waiver applies.

  • MBA/Accounting — Online
    Frostburg State University
    • Online program; 33 credits total
    • Open only to Frostburg accounting bachelor's graduates
    • Meets CPA exam education requirements in Maryland
    • Choose business analytics, management, or health care management
    • GMAT or GRE required; waivers available for GPA or experience
    • Minimum 2.5 accounting GPA and relevant work experience
    • Capstone course in strategic planning
    • Combined pathway saves credits versus separate degrees
    Visit Website
MO

Mount St. Mary's University

Emmitsburg, MD · $10,000 – $15,000/yr

Mount St. Mary's appears on the list for its integrated five-year accounting BS/MBA, an accelerated route open only to Mount's own undergraduates rather than to working professionals. Students who start at Emmitsburg can complete the MBA in one calendar year after finishing the bachelor's degree, and a CPA-focused track aligns with Maryland licensing coursework. It will not suit an external applicant, but for a Baltimore-region student entering as an accounting major it is an unusually direct path.

  • Accounting BS/MBA — On-Campus
    Mount St. Mary's University
    • Five-year integrated BS and MBA pathway
    • Restricted to Mount St. Mary's undergraduates
    • 34 credits; 10 courses plus capstone
    • Certified public accounting track available
    • Complete MBA in one calendar year after the BS
    • Waivers often available for foundational courses
    Visit Website
ST

Strayer University-Maryland

Baltimore, MD · $15,000/yr

Strayer University-Maryland is a private institution offering an online MBA that Baltimore professionals can complete without relocating, with optional hybrid sessions. Its 11-week course format suits working adults, and eligible students can transfer up to four prior graduate courses. The university holds institutional accreditation from the Middle States Commission on Higher Education, and a broad concentration menu allows students to shape the degree around their industry.

  • Master of Business Administration — Online
    Strayer University-Maryland
    • 10 courses, each 11 weeks long
    • Online or hybrid on-campus learning options
    • 13 concentration options available
    • $3,045 cost per course
    • Transfer up to four eligible courses
    • Accredited by Middle States Commission on Higher Education
    • Financial aid and scholarships available
    Visit Website
JO

Johns Hopkins University

Baltimore, MD · $65,000/yr

Johns Hopkins Carey Business School is Baltimore's elite research-university option, with MBA coursework that can be combined with law, medicine, or public health degrees. The MBA component is STEM-designated, offering international students extended OPT, and dual-degree structures let lawyers, physicians, and public health leaders build business fluency while keeping their professional credentials. Federal data from 2024 for the university shows a graduation rate near 94%, median graduate debt of about $10,300, and median earnings of roughly $87,600 for students working ten years after they first enroll.

  • MBA/JD (dual degree) — On-Campus
    Johns Hopkins University
    • Joint degree with University of Maryland Carey School of Law
    • STEM-designated MBA component
    • MBA coursework completed in two semesters
    • 54 credits for the MBA portion
    • Optional specialization within the full-time MBA
    Visit Website
  • MBA/MD (dual degree) — On-Campus
    Johns Hopkins University
    • Five-year joint program with Johns Hopkins School of Medicine
    • STEM-designated, full-time MBA component
    • 54 total credit hours for MBA portion
    • 18 credits of medical school coursework count toward MBA
    • F-1 STEM OPT extension eligibility
    Visit Website
  • MBA/MPH (dual degree) — On-Campus
    Johns Hopkins University
    • Two-year program with Bloomberg School of Public Health
    • 127 total credits across both degrees
    • Single SOPHAS application reviewed by both schools
    • Integrated health policy, finance, and management curriculum
    • CEPH-accredited public health side
    Visit Website
UN

University of Maryland, Baltimore

Baltimore, MD · ~$18,000/yr (est.)

The University of Maryland, Baltimore is the graduate professional campus at the center of the city, home to law, medical, nursing, pharmacy, dental, and social work programs. There is no standalone UMB MBA; instead, UMB students earn MBA coursework through dual degrees whose MBA is awarded by Johns Hopkins Carey or the University of Maryland Smith School. These coordinated tracks were built for students already committed to law, medicine, or social work, not for professionals seeking a general MBA.

  • JD/MBA (dual degree with Johns Hopkins Carey) — On-Campus
    University of Maryland, Baltimore
    • MBA path opens automatically after first year of law school
    • Four-year route rather than five for separate degrees
    • Application fee waived for law students
    • 20% tuition savings on MBA portion
    • Curriculum spans strategy, finance, marketing, and operations
    Visit Website
  • MD/MBA (dual degree with Robert H. Smith)
    University of Maryland, Baltimore
    • Five-year program for medical students
    • MBA earned from Robert H. Smith School of Business
    • 12 medical school credits count toward the MBA
    • Capstone fulfills the Scholarly Project requirement
  • MSW/MBA (dual degree with Robert H. Smith)
    University of Maryland, Baltimore
    • Four-year joint social work and business degree
    • 90 total credit hours; 51 in social work, 39 in MBA
    • CSWE-accredited social work program
    • Located in the Washington-Baltimore corridor
LO

Loyola University Maryland

Baltimore, MD · $20,000/yr

Loyola University Maryland provides a part-time professional MBA through its Sellinger School of Business, with hybrid and online class sessions designed for working Baltimore residents. The 39-credit format offers concentrations in data analytics and digital technologies, finance, and management, plus an Executive MBA option. Federal school-level data shows a graduation rate near 79% and median earnings around $82,700 a decade after students first enroll.

  • Professional's MBA, Data Analytics and Digital Technologies — Hybrid
    Loyola University Maryland
    • Part-time Professional's MBA; 39 credits
    • Hybrid and online course formats
    • Electives in business intelligence, data visualization, and digital marketing
    • SAS Institute joint certificate in business intelligence and data mining
    • Graduate mentor program available
    Visit Website
  • Professional's MBA, Finance — Hybrid
    Loyola University Maryland
    • Finance specialization in Loyola's part-time MBA
    • Hybrid or online course options
    • Focus on real-world business problems
    Visit Website
  • Professional's MBA, Management — Hybrid
    Loyola University Maryland
    • Management specialization in Loyola's part-time MBA
    • Requires three management electives
    • Electives include entrepreneurship, leadership, and project management
    • Course options span negotiation, dispute resolution, and risk management
    Visit Website
  • Executive MBA — On-Campus
    Loyola University Maryland
    Visit Website

Frequently Asked Questions About MBA Programs in Baltimore

Baltimore MBA candidates often share similar questions about cost, format, and outcomes. Below are concise, data-informed answers to the most common concerns we hear from working professionals evaluating their options.

Tuition varies widely by institution and format. The University of Baltimore charges approximately $955 per credit for in-state students (2026 to 2027), putting a full program in the mid-five-figure range. The Johns Hopkins Carey Flexible MBA totals roughly $102,560, while the Carey full-time MBA runs about $145,000. The University of Maryland's Flex or Online MBA is approximately $1,733 per credit. Residency status, credit load, and fees will shift your final number.

Many Baltimore-area programs offer GMAT waivers based on professional experience, graduate coursework, or strong undergraduate GPAs. However, policies change frequently and eligibility criteria differ by school. Rather than assuming a blanket "no GMAT" policy, contact each admissions office directly to confirm current waiver requirements. Several programs have expanded waiver eligibility in recent years, so experienced professionals often qualify.

Reported salaries depend heavily on the program and career stage. Johns Hopkins Carey full-time MBA graduates reported a median base salary of $127,500 (2024 class), plus a median signing bonus of $32,500. Carey Flexible MBA graduates, most of whom are working professionals, reported average salaries ranging from roughly $148,000 to $164,000. University of Baltimore MBA alumni have shown strong long-term growth, with median earnings climbing substantially over the first decade after graduation.

It depends on your goal. Part-time and flexible formats, such as those at the University of Baltimore, Carey, and UMD Smith, let you keep earning while you study, reducing opportunity cost. This suits professionals seeking incremental advancement. A full-time MBA at a program like Carey is more suited for a major career pivot, offering immersive recruiting and networking, but requires stepping away from work and a higher overall investment.

Yes. Baltimore and the surrounding area offer several AACSB-accredited options. Johns Hopkins Carey Business School, the University of Baltimore's Merrick School of Business, and the University of Maryland's Robert H. Smith School of Business all hold AACSB accreditation. Loyola University Maryland and Salisbury University are also AACSB-accredited, broadening access for students willing to consider nearby campuses. AACSB accreditation signals rigorous academic standards and is widely recognized by employers.

Recent Articles

In this article

Follow us