What you’ll learn in this article…
- JWMI ranks fourth among Princeton Review's 2027 online MBA programs.
- Median earnings above $74,000 mark the strongest online MBA profiles.
- Florida Southern, Fayetteville State, and Oakland also appear in the rankings.
The Princeton Review's 2027 online MBA rankings place Jack Welch Management Institute at No. 4. Online programs now compete directly with residential MBAs for employer attention, and hiring managers increasingly accept accredited online MBAs as interchangeable with on-campus credentials.
Rank order alone hides the differences that matter. Pair ranked schools with median earnings, graduate debt, and per-credit tuition, and a clearer return-on-investment picture emerges. Some lower-ranked programs deliver stronger net earnings than higher-priced rivals.
The methodology rewards student satisfaction and career support more than incoming test scores, favoring programs built for working professionals. The schools that rise combine flexible delivery with concrete salary and debt outcomes, not just brand recognition.
How the Princeton Review Ranks Online MBA Programs
Some online MBA rankings lean on brand prestige and incoming test scores. The Princeton Review takes a different path: it measures what current students experience in the virtual classroom and what happens after graduation.
What the ranking actually measures
The 2027 Top 50 Online MBA ranking combines administrator-reported data with surveys from more than 13,360 enrolled online MBA students across 194 business schools. Each survey includes more than 30 data points, which together give the methodology more than 60 inputs. Administrators report on admissions selectivity, graduation and retention rates, faculty training, technology infrastructure, student indebtedness, and career outcomes. Students rate faculty, peers, academic rigor, the technology platform, career preparation, and overall satisfaction.
Because the ranking covers programs that are majority online, the student ratings of the technology platform are especially telling. They reflect how smoothly the virtual learning experience actually works, not just how the program markets itself. For a working professional choosing between online formats, that experiential signal is often more predictive than brand alone.
Why this matters for working professionals
The result is a composite score, not a simple ranking by cost or earnings. Princeton Review does not publish the exact weight given to each component, but no single factor such as tuition or starting salary drives the list. That matters for working professionals: the ranking captures whether online delivery feels rigorous, supported, and career-relevant from the inside. It is a quality signal that blends selectivity, academic experience, and post-MBA outcomes.
Program Profiles: JWMI, Florida Southern, Fayetteville State, and Oakland
The four programs below highlight different delivery models, timelines, and price points among online MBA options. Program-level median earnings and student debt figures were not available for these four schools in the source data used for this section.
| School | Princeton Review 2027 Signal | Format & Residency | Credits | Duration | Published Tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jack Welch Management Institute (JWMI) | Ranked #4 online MBA in the referenced Princeton Review release; also Poets&Quants #9 online MBA for 2026 (fifth straight year in top 10) | 100% online; no residency sessions required | 54 credits (12 courses, 4.5 credits each) | 18–36 months depending on pace | $3,925 per course; about $47,100 for the 12-course program before scholarships or transfer credit |
| Florida Southern College | Not specified in the source data for the Princeton Review 2027 list | Saturday-hybrid and online classes | 33 credits (21 required) | As little as 12 months | $1,035 per credit hour (2025–2026), plus $250 deposit and $25–$100 per-semester tech fee |
| Fayetteville State University | Not specified in the source data for the Princeton Review 2027 list | Online (MBA@FayState) | 36 credits (9–12 elective credits for one of 8 concentrations) | Typically 24 months; flexible 12–72 months | $224 per credit hour (NC residents), $560 (outside NC), $887.86 (non-NC resident) |
| Oakland University | No source-backed Princeton Review 2027 ranking or program details available | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified |
Median Pay for General and Operations Managers
What the Rankings Reveal About Accreditation, ROI, and Career Outcomes
Earnings and Debt Signals
An online MBA should be judged by what happens after graduation, not by tuition alone. The strongest earnings-to-debt profiles we reviewed combine median earnings above $74,000 ten years after entry with median graduate debt near $18,000. In the same comparison, median graduate debt ranged from roughly $15,000 to $23,000, while median earnings varied widely. GMAC's 2024 Corporate Recruiters Survey puts the median U.S. MBA starting salary at $120,000, roughly 1.75 times the level for bachelor's hires,1 and a 2025 regional profile adds a $25,000 premium over non-MBA candidates.2 Those figures cover all MBAs and do not isolate online delivery, so treat them as broad benchmarks rather than a guaranteed personal increase. School-level online MBA data often show salary increases of 15 to 60 percent or more for working professionals, though the timing and baseline vary.
Payback Periods and ROI
Payback claims need context. Some lower-cost online MBA analyses cite payback periods of about 8 to 14 months, but those examples typically involve low tuition and do not transfer to high-cost U.S. programs. For most accredited online MBAs, a meaningful MBA return on investment estimate must be calculated from program tuition, fees, and your expected post-MBA salary, not from a single national average.
Accreditation Quality Differences
Accreditation signals quality differently. AACSB is the most selective and research-oriented benchmark. ACBSP emphasizes teaching quality and accessible standards. IACBE focuses on outcomes and continuous improvement. Employers and recruiting teams often give the most weight to AACSB and international equivalents such as EQUIS or AMBA accreditation, because those standards imply rigorous faculty, curriculum, and assessment.
Employer Perception of Online MBAs
Most employers now treat accredited online MBA degrees similarly to on-campus graduates, especially when the degree comes from a reputable school with AACSB, EQUIS, or AMBA accreditation. Residual skepticism remains for unaccredited or low-reputation programs, usually around networking opportunities and perceived rigor. In practice, the delivery mode matters less than the accreditation and institutional reputation behind the credential.
Per-Credit Tuition and Mandatory Fees: Comparing the Numbers
The table below compares per-credit tuition and mandatory fees for select online MBA programs included in the 2027 Princeton Review rankings. Total tuition estimates are shown where programs publish them; for others, check the program's credit requirements because totals vary by credits. Always confirm current figures on the official program page before applying.
| Program | Per-Credit Tuition | Mandatory Fees | Estimated Total Tuition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fayetteville State University Online MBA | $224 | $56 | $10,088 |
| Oakland University Online MBA | $951.50 | N/A | Varies by credits |
| Florida Southern College Online MBA | $1,035 | $25 to $100 | Varies by credits |
| Florida International University Professional MBA Online | $1,000.00 | N/A | $42,000.00 |
| Fort Hays State University Online MBA | $401.17 | N/A | $3,610.53 |
Related Articles
How to Use Online MBA Rankings to Choose the Right Program
How do you turn a top-50 list of best online MBA programs into a shortlist that actually fits your career and budget? Start with three checks: accreditation, net cost after aid, and career outcomes.
Check accreditation before anything else
Only consider programs with recognized business or regional accreditation, and verify the status directly on the accreditor's public database. Rankings list many accredited schools, but accreditation is your minimum bar for employer recognition, licensure, and credit transfer.
Calculate net cost, not sticker price
Employer tuition assistance in the U.S. is typically partial, often around $5,250 per year because that amount is tax-free for employers, but caps vary by policy.1 Most employers reimburse after you pass each course, so plan cash flow accordingly. Stack that with program scholarships: for example, UMass Lowell offers up to $2,000 for online MBA students starting fall 20262, ESMT Berlin awards ten €4,000 scholarships, and Edinburgh's diversity scholarship ranges from £2,500 to £10,0004. Iowa State even has a full-ride Emerging Leader MBA Scholarship for one student, requiring a 3.0 GPA and completion within three years.56 A recent scholarship tracker counts more than 1,300 awards across 650-plus U.S. business schools1, so compare per-credit tuition after aid rather than the headline price. Lower online MBA cost after aid shortens the time for your salary gains to pay back the degree.
Compare outcomes and format
Check median pay for recent graduates and typical debt levels, not just starting salary headlines, and ask how quickly graduates see a pay increase. Then weigh asynchronous delivery, which suits unpredictable work schedules, against hybrid residencies for those who want on-campus networking and in-person access to faculty. Choose the format you will actually finish.
Rankings are a starting point, not a guarantee. Use them to filter programs, then dig into accreditation, cost, and career outcomes before you commit.










